New Honorary Fellows

New Honorary Fellows

30 August 2017

St Antony’s is delighted to welcome four new Honorary Fellows to our community; Professor Michael Ignatieff (Visiting Fellow, 1993), Professor Romila Thapar (Senior Academic Member, 1967), Professor Paul Kennedy (DPhil History, 1966) and Dame Nemat Shafik (DPhil Economics, 1987). All have been attached to the College in the past, and we are proud to recognise their achievements with an Honorary Fellowship.

Michael Ignatieff is the current Rector and President of the Central European University in Budapest, and is the former leader of the Liberal Party of Canada.

Romila Thapar
is a noted historian, with a research focus on the study of Ancient India. She is currently Professor Emerita at Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi. 

Paul Kennedy
is the current J. Richardson Dilworth Professor of History and Director of International Security Studies at Yale University.

Nemat Shaifk
is the former Deputy Governor of the Bank of England is set to become the next Director of the London School of Economics in the new academic year. 

An Honorary Fellowship is the College’s highest honour and is bestowed by the Governing Body in recognition of outstanding achievement in academic or professional life.  Nominations are made by three or more Fellows, and are considered in the penultimate meeting of the Governing Body of the academic year.  There are at present 32 Honorary Fellows of St Antony’s College.