December 2017 E-Newsletter - Academic Roll of Honour

December 2017 E-Newsletter - Academic Roll of Honour

Some of our alumni go on to achieve great things in academia - here is our Academic Roll of Honour as of December 2017. We'd be delighted to hear of your appointments, elections and promotions. We will publish another e-newsletter in Hilary 2018, and our next print newsletter of the Antonian arrives in Michaelmas 2018. Send us your updates to


Dr Hatsuki Aishima (DPhil Oriental Studies, 2010) has been appointed to Associate Professor at the National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka, Japan.

Dr Roham Alvandi (MPhil Politics and IR, 2005) has been appointed Director of the LSE IDEAS Cold War Studies Project and is also currently Associate Professor of International History at the LSE.

Professor Mats Berdal (DPhil Politics, 1993) of King’s College, London served on the Norwegian Commission of Inquiry set up by the Norwegian Government in 2015 to examine Norway’s military, humanitarian and development contribution to the international mission in Afghanistan between 2001 and 2014.

Dr Laurent Bonnaud (Visiting Fellow, 1987-1988) started up Sponte sua sprl, a consultancy in Public and Business history based in Brussels. Sponte sua sprl currently coordinates the research programme "Twenty years under the Chunnel and beyond?", an initiative by Rails et histoire, the railway history and heritage agency. Dr Bonnaud wrote the Encyclopaedia Universalis article "Tunnel sous la Manche" in 2016 and presented a paper on the cross-Channel link and tourism at the 25th International Congress of the History of Science and Technology in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on 29 July 2017.

Dr Teun Dekker (DPhil Politics, 2006) was appointed Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences Education at Maastricht University.

Dr Konstantinos Delaportas (MSc Russian and East European Studies, 2008) received a PhD in Economics from UCL.

Dr Georges Dertilis (Visiting Fellow, 1992) is now Professor Emeritus of the University of Athens and of the Centre de Recherches Historiques at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) in Paris. Elected directeur d’études (professor) at the EHESS in 2000, he resigned from the University of Athens and moved to France, where he was conferred the “Palmes Académiques” (chevalier) and the French nationality.

Diane Elson (Sociology, 1968), Emeritus Professor, University of Essex received an honorary doctorate from the Open University on September 23rd in recognition of her contributions to development studies and feminist economics.

George Gömöri (BLitt Politics, 1957) was appointed Senior Research Associate at the Slavonic and East European School, University College, London for three years, beginning on May 1 of 2017.
Dr Nigel Gould-Davies (MPhil International Relations, 1987) has been made an Associate Fellow of Chatham House for the Asia, and Russia & Eurasia, programmes.

Dr Antoinette Handley (MPhil International Relations, 1993) served a year as World Politics Research Fellow at Princeton, 2016-17 and is now beginning a five-year term as Chair of the Department of Political Science at the University of Toronto.

Allison Hartnett (MPhil Modern Middle Eastern Studies, 2011) has been appointed a 2017-2018 Pre-Doctoral Fellow at Harvard Kennedy School's Belfer Centre, working with the Middle East Initiative. The website is here:!about
Professor Beatrice Heuser (MA Political Science, 1983) has become Chair in International Relations at the University of Glasgow. The first year will be a sabbatical, which she shall be spending at the Sorbonne and at Sciences Po’ in Paris.

Mary Johnstone-Louis (MPhil Latin American Studies, 2007) is now Senior Research Fellow at Said Business School, University of Oxford.

Isaac Kardon (MPhil Modern Chinese Studies, 2007) is now Assistant Professor of Strategic Studies at the US Naval War College in Newport, Rhode Island, and Associate in Research at the Harvard University Fairbank Centre for Chinese Studies. 

Professor Bereket Kebede has been promoted to full professorship in Behavioural Development Economics at the University of East Anglia.

Professor Antonio López Vega (SAM, 2012) has been named Director Of Instituto de Humanidades y Ciencias de la Salud Gregorio Marañón of Foundation José Ortega y Gasset - Gregorio Marañón (Institute of Humanities and Health Sciences Gregorio Marañón).

Dr Gerald Mars (SAM 1984-1985) has been appointed Honorary Professor of Anthropology, University College, London and Visiting Professor of Organisational Ethnography, Uniersity of Suffolk

Dr Salvatore Morelli (DPhil Economics, 2013) spent the 2016/17 in Oxford as Associate member of Nuffield College and Visiting Research fellow at the INET-Oxford thanks to the Guido Cazzavillan Fellowship of University of Ca' Foscari Venice. He was also Visiting Research Fellow at the Department of Economics at the University of California Berkeley - between July 2016 and Nov 2016. Now he is Visiting Assistant Professor at CUNY, New York at the Stone Center on Socio-Economic Inequality and ARC Distinguished Fellow at the Graduate Center, CUNY.

Trilokesh Mukherjee (History, 1980) did some research whilst at St Antony’s. His subject/topic was early printing in Bengal from 1778 to 1857 which was later truncated to 1778 to 1805. He was not able to complete his research or submit the thesis. He was able to collect some documents and all my research papers and relevant books/publications are with him. He would be very happy to hand them over to anyone who would be interested in persuing this thesis. Contact -

Cesare Onestini (MPhil European Politics and Society, 1991) is now the Director of the European Training Foundation in Torino.

Rafael Pastor (MPP, 2014) presented a paper at 2017 Summer Institute in Law and Economics: New Frontiers in Law and Economics.

Dr Justin Pearce (DPhil Politics, 2011) has been appointed as Temporary Lecturer in African Politics at Cambridge

Dr Shadaab Rahemtulla (DPhil Oriental Studies, 2011) accepted a post as Lecturer in Islamic and Interfaith Studies at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

Sir Ivor Roberts (SAM 1998-99) stepped down in July 2017 as President of Trinity, Oxford after 11 years.

Dr Li-chen Sim (DPhil Politics, 2005) is now the Chair (Abu Dhabi) of the Department of Social Sciences and Humanities, Zayed University, Abu Dhabi, UAE.
Charles Taylor (BPhil Economics, 1972) has retired from the US Government. He was Deputy Comptroller of the Currency until January 2016 and then Executive Fellow at the office of Financial Research at the US Treasury. He is now a visiting Scholar at GW University Law School.
Professor Mairo Telo (SAM, 2010) is a member of the Royal Academy of Sciences, Belgium and  since 2016,  Grand officier de l’ordre de la Couronne, Belgium. He is also Professor of International Relations at LUISS and ULB

Dr Sitara Thobani (DPhil Anthropology, 2012) has recently been appointed Assistant Professor in the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities, Michigan State University. 

Professor Femi Vaughan (DPhil Politics, 1990) was recently appointed Alfred Sargent Lee & Mary Ames Lee Professor of African Studies at Amherst College.

Professor Christian Webersik (DPhil Politics, 2004) has been promoted to full Professor of Development Studies at the University of Agder, Norway.