March 2018 E-Newsletter - Academic Roll of Honour

March 2018 E-Newsletter - Academic Roll of Honour

Professor Mohammed Ayoob (SAM, 1982) is now University Distinguished Professor Emeritus of International Relations, Michigan State University, and Senior Fellow, Center for Global Policy, Washington DC.

Dr Cristina Blanco Sío-López (Santander Fellow in Iberian and European Studies, 2017-2018) has been selected as Full Member and 2017 Laureate of the Global Young Academy (GYA), following a five-year award by the German National Academy of Sciences 'Leopoldina' to represent Spain and the field of History. She now joins the other two existing Members of the GYA at the University of Oxford, Dr Moritz Riede (Physics) and Dr Matthew C. Levy (Computational and Theoretical Physics – Wolfson College).

Dr Yannan Ding (SAM 2016-2017) is now Associate Professor of Historical Geography at Fudan University, Shanghai.

Dr Nina Hall (DPhil International Relations, 2012) has recently moved from the Hertie School of Governance, Berlin to take-up a new position at Johns Hopkins SAIS in Bologna, where she is an Assistant Professor of International Relations. She continues research on international advocacy in the digital era, and is actively involved in debates about New Zealand foreign policy. She encourages Antonians to reach out if they visit Bologna and can be contacted at

Allison Hartnett (MPhil Modern Middle Eastern Studies, 2011) will be a post-doctoral fellow at Yale University's Leitner Program in International and Comparative Political Economy, with a secondary appointment as a Lecturer in the Department of Political Science, starting in July 2018.

Dr Nicholas Hope (DPhil History, 1970) gave a Guest Lecture, German Lutheranism, to Senior Historians 2017 Weekend, Wolfson College, Oxford, 1 September 2017.

Professor Ersin Kalaycioglu (SAM 2001) is at Harvard University, Center for Middle Eastern Studies (CMES). During this academic year, he and Ali Carkoglu of Koc University, Istanbul, Turkey have finished a field survey of a nationally representative sample of adult population in Turkey during August - November 2017 and published the results electronically in two separate reports at the Istanbul Policy Center (IPC) at Sabanci University ( as of 8 and 19 February 2018. The reports are called "Citizen - State Interface in Turkey: A Study from the Comparative Perspective" (in English),  and "A Comparative Look at Turkey's Work Orientation" (in Turkish).

Dr Paul Kingston (DPhil Political Economy, 1992) is the founding Director of the Centre for Critical Development Studies at the University of Toronto, see web address:

Dr Paola Mattei (GB Fellow, 2010-2017) has taken up a new job as Professor of Political Sciences at the University of Milan in Italy.

Professor Bill Kinsey (SAM 1994-1995) has left Zimbabwe to take up a position as Visiting Fellow at the African Studies Centre at the University of Leiden in the Netherlands. At ASCL, he will be working on a history of the long-term welfare impacts of the first two decades of land redistribution in Zimbabwe.

Dr Daniel Meier (SAM 2011-2012; Academic Visitor, 2011-2014) is Visiting Professor at the University of Turin, department of Culture, Politics and Society, where he teaches on political Islam in the contemporary Middle East.

Professor Iver Neumann (DPhil International Relations, 1992) has left the Montague Burton Professorship in International Relations at the London School of Economics to take up the Directorship of Norwegian Social Research, giving Brexit as one of his reasons.

Dr Ben Noble (MPhil Russian and Eastern European Studies, 2008) has started as Lecturer in Russian Politics at University College London in the School of Slavonic and East European Studies in September 2017. He was also awarded the Walter Bagehot Prize for Government and Public Administration by the Political Studies Association in 2017 for his DPhil dissertation on Russian lawmaking. 

Mr Elchi Nowrojee (MPhil International Relations, 1992) was invited to participate in a display at the Royal Philatelic Society London, showcasing the stamps and postal history of East Africa. The Uganda Railway is a particular interest for Elchi as his great-grandfather Pherozeshah Nowrojee, was a senior locomotive driver on the line from 1900-1933. On the day, over 200 senior philatelists from 14 different countries attended to view the display.  Elchi has been a member of the East Africa Study Circle since 1986 and was elected a Member of the Royal Philatelic Society London in 2017.

Dr Huaigao Qi (Academic Visitor, 2017-2018) was promoted to Vice Dean of Fudan University’s Institute of International Studies (Fudan IIS)  in November 2017.

Professor Janice Stargardt (SAM, 1983-1984) is part of a research group currently benefitting from an award of Euros 8.1 million for six years of comparative research on India, Central Asia and Burma in the period from 4-6 century CE. Since 2014, she has been directing new archaeological excavations in Burma and advanced training in Burma and Cambridge. Her latest publication as Editor, 'Relics and Relic Worship in the Early Buddhism of India, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Burma', which will be published in May 2018 by the British Museum.

Dr Joanna Szostek (DPhil Politics, 2013) has been appointed lecturer in Political Communication at the University of Glasgow, to start in September 2018.

Professor Akihiko Tanaka (SAM 1994-1995) has become the President of the National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies (GRIPs) in Tokyo.

Professor Toshiaki Tomooka (SAM 1987-1988, 1999-2000) is now a Professor Emeritus of Nanzan University

Dr Laura Valadez-Martinez (DPhil Comparative Social Policy, 2012), has been appointed as Lecturer in Social Policy at Loughborough University.