March 2018 E-Newsletter - Awards and Prizes

March 2018 E-Newsletter - Awards and Prizes

Julio Borges (MSc Public Policy of Latin America, 1995) received the Sájarov Award granted by the European Parliament, on December 13 in Strasbourg. This award has been granted to the Venezuelan opposition and Julio as President of the National Assembly of Venezuela will receive it.

Professor George Dertilis (Visiting Fellow, 1992) Emeritus Professor of the University of Athens and since 2001 directeur d’études (professor) at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales in Paris, had an unexpected success with his latest book Seven Wars, Four Civil Wars, Seven Defaults. Greece, 1821-2016. Two years ago Georges received the Greek State prize (Essays) for his thirteenth book, also published in Greek at Polis in 2015 (Συνειρμοί, Μαρτυρίες, Μυθιστορίες), now on the way to a publication in French, with the title "Mythistoires". In the meantime, the History of the Modern Greek State, a volume of 1120 pages first published in 2004, has seen three editions plus six re-impressions at Crete University Press. An English edition is on the way at a major University Press in the United States. 

Dr Amy King (DPhil International Relations, 2013) received the Paul Bourke Award for Early Career Research in 2017.

Professor Dr Tobias Lenz (DPhil International Relations, 2012) was recently awarded a Leibniz-Junior Research Group on “Sources and Consequences of Legitimation Strategies of Regional Organizations” (5 years, 1.2 million). More information is available here:

Professor Charles S. Meier (History, 1961) received a "Laurea honoris causa" in European Studies from the University of Padua, on January 27, 2018

Daniel Miodovnik (MSc Comparative Government, 2010) has been named to Forbes Magazine's 30 Under 30 List for Social Entrepreneurship ( for leading Social Finance's data journey from the Peterborough Social Impact Bond and beyond. (

Dr Knut Christian Myhre (DPhil Social Anthropology, 2003) was recently awarded the Curl Essay Prize for 2017 by the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. The prize was awarded for an essay entitled 'Tales of a Stitched Anus: Fictions, Analytics, and Personhood in Kilimanjaro'.

Dr Danila Serra (DPhil Economics, 2009) was awarded the Vernon L. Smith ‘budding genius’ Ascending Scholar Prize for her research on corruption. Serra, an Assistant Professor of Economics at Southern Methodist University, was the inaugural recipient of the $50,000 prize."

Dr Geoff Sloan (SAM 1994-1995) won the Stratfor prize in 2017 for Geopolitical analysis for Geopolitics, Geography and Strategic History

Dr Hao Wang (DPhil Politics, 1992) was awarded the Taipei International Book Exhibition Book Prize 2018