Visiting Parliamentary Fellows, Past and Present

Visiting Parliamentary Fellows, Past and Present

On 24 April 2019 twenty-five years of the Visiting Parliamentary Fellowship at St Antony's was celebrated in the Churchill Room of te Palace of Westminster. Starting in 1994, two parliamentarians from opposing political parties have been elected annually since 1994.

A leaflet was developed to help reinforce a sense of community among the parliamentarians who have been elected by the College while reminding them that, while holding the Visiting Parliamentary Fellowship may only be for a year, membership of St Antony’s is for life.  The other objective of this booklet was to record the history of the first 25 years of the Fellowship and, for that, the College would like to express its particular thanks to its progenitors, Archie Brown and Patrick Cormack who have set down the account which follows in the next few pages. PDF icon The booklet can be found here


1994-1995:  Mr Patrick Cormack MP and Mr Giles Radice MP
1995-1996:  Ms Emma Nicholson MP and Dr Calum MacDonald MP 
1996-1997:  Ms Janet Anderson MP and Mr Edward Garnier QC MP 
1997-1998:  Mr Robert Jackson MP and Dr Phyllis Starkey MP 
1998-1999:  Mr Tony Baldry MP and Dr Denis MacShane MP 
1999-2000:  Mr Donald Anderson MP and Dr Jenny Tonge MP 
2000-2001:  Mr Mark Fisher MP and the Rt Hon. Gillian Shephard PC MP
2001-2002:  Mr Keith Simpson MP and Dr Tony Wright MP 
2002-2003:  Mr Alan Duncan MP and Mr Gordon Marsden MP 
2003-2004:  Mr Michael Moore MP and the Rt Hon. Ann Taylor PC MP
2004-2005:  Rt Hon. Sir Brian Mawhinney PC MP and Mr Martin O'Neill MP 
2005-2006:  Mr James Gray MP and Mr Tony Lloyd MP 
2006-2007:  Rt Hon. Charles Kennedy MP and Rt Hon. Paul Murphy MP 
2007-2008:  Baroness Quin and Mr Ian Taylor MP
2008-2009:  Ms Gisela Stuart MP and Mr John Horam MP
2009-2010:  The Rt Hon the Lord Trimble and Baroness Falkner of Margrave
2010-2011:  Lord Carlile of Berriew and Lord Eatwell
2011-2012:  Ms Nicola Blackwood MP and Ms Lisa Nandy MP
2012-2013:  The Rt Hon the Lord Steel of Aikwood and the Rt Hon the Baroness Symons
2013-2014:  The Rt Hon the Lord Browne of Ladyton and Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury
2014-2015:  Lord Inglewood of Hutton in the Forest and Baroness Andrews of Southover
2015-2016:  Lord Lipsey of Tooting Bec and Lord Cooper of Windrush

2016-2017:  Baroness Rock of Stratton and Lord Collins of Highbury

2017-2018:  Baroness Finn and Lord Mendelsohn

2018-2019:  Lord Bridges of Headley and Lord Wood of Anfield