UNSCOP GB165-0290

Reference code: GB165-0290

Title: United Nations Special Committee on Palestine

Name of creator: United Nations Special Committee on Palestine (1947)

Dates of creation of material: 1947

Level of description: Fonds

Extent: 14 sheets

Administrative history: United Nations Special Committee on Palestine (1947)

A committee of the United Nations Organisation, on which eleven countries were represented, which toured Palestine in June 1947 according to a programme drawn up by Liaison Officers of the Palestine Government and of the Jewish Agency but which was largely boycotted by the Arab population. The tour was followed by public hearings and

private meetings in Palestine.

Scope and content: TS report of a conference between UNSCOP representatives Mr. E.

Sandstrom, Dr Victor Hoo and Dr. Ralph Bunche, and the Commander and two other

representatives of the Irgun Zvai Leumi, 24 June 1947, with details of the movement's

origins and policies; TS transcript of an anti-British broadcast, 13 August 1947, from The

Voice of Fighting Zion, the broadcasting station of the Irgun Zvai Leumi.

System of arrangement: Chronological order

Access conditions: Open

Language of material: English

Conditions governing reproduction: No restrictions on copying or quotation other than

statutory regulations and preservation concerns

Custodial history: In the possession of May Seikaly

Immediate source of acquisition: Received as a gift from May Seikaly 1975

Related Units of Description:

In MEC Archive

For other papers relating to UNSCOP see:

©Middle East Centre Archive, St Antony's College, Oxford. OX2 6JF

• GB165-0068 Richard Crossman Collection: Records, cuttings, letters, drafts, etc. on the problems of the Anglo-American Committee and UNSCOP, 1946-47, and the subsequent recognition of Israel; 13 private letters to Mrs. Zita Crossman from Palestine, 1946-47, including one on a visit to Chaim Weizmann. 1 box.

Finding aids: In Guide; Handlist

Archivist's note: Fonds level description created by Clare Brown 8 Feb 2000 and revised

by Debbie Usher 10 Nov 2023.