Memory wars and war therapies in conflict resolution and peace-building

Memory wars and war therapies in conflict resolution and peace-building

Friday, 14 June 2019 - 9:15am to 5:00pm
Seminar Room, European Studies Centre, 70 Woodstock Road, Oxford, OX2 6HR
Dr Kepa Fernandez de Larrinoa, Basque Visiting Fellow, St Antony’s College, Oxford
Visiting Fellows Series

The European Studies Centre Basque Fellow Conference 2019 is entitled: Memory wars and war therapies in conflict resolution and peace-building: Comparative perspectives from Northern Ireland, Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Basque Country

A conference with anthropologists, historians and political scientists to discuss analytical ethnographies of cultural expressions and depictions of political violence among sociocultural communities in contexts of supporting or rejecting the creation of new nation-States. The conference deals with the politics of war remembering and forgetting, visually and verbally in processes of community healing and social reconciliation from a comparative perspective. The cases of Northern Ireland, Bosnia-Herzegovina and the Basque Country will be presented and discussed.

Kepa Fernandez de Larrinoa is the Basque Visiting Fellow at the Centre for European Studies, St. Antony’s (2018-2019). Formerly, he has been senior lecturer at the University of Basque Country and the Public University of Navarra. He is a sociocultural anthropologist who has conducted intensive fieldwork research in the Pyrenees as well as in the Amazon rainforest of Ecuador where he has studied how theories of development, community empowerment and public policies relate to political discourses of cultural and biological diversity. He is interested in frames of analysis that combine symbolic and political anthropology. At present he is involved in a long-term research project on Cultural Memories of Political Violence in the Basque Country and Navarra during the 20th Century.

Confirmed participants:
Professor Joseba Zulaika (University of Reno-Nevada), Professor Jeremy MacClancy, (Oxford Brookes University), Lord John Alderdice (Oxford), Professor Dominic Bryan (Queen’s University Belfast), Dr Jessie Hronešová (London School of Economics), Research Professor Hariz Halilovich (RMIT University, Melbourne), Professor Stathis Kalyvas (Oxford).

Chairs: Dr Othon Anastasakis (Oxford), Professor Tom Buchanan (Oxford), Dr Marc Mulholland (Oxford).

Further information about session timings can be found in the attached programme.

Registration in advance is essential as places at the venue are limited. Please email: with your interest.

This conference is hosted in collaboration with SEESOX, at St Antony's, Oxford.