Professor Nandini Gooptu recognised in the 2023 Social Sciences Teaching Excellence Awards

Professor Nandini Gooptu has been announced as a recipient of the Social Sciences Teaching Excellence Awards 2023 for ‘Excellence in Supervision’, an award that recognises the outstanding achievements of academic staff who undertake DPhil supervision.

On receiving the award, Nandini commented:

Graduate supervision is the most rewarding part of my work. My students never cease to inspire me with their intellectual vigour, energy, and enthusiasm. Each one in their unique way has enriched my own thinking and scholarship. This award is a tribute to their achievements and excellence.

Professor Timothy Power, Fellow of St Antony’s and Head of the Social Sciences Division congratulated all the award recipients:

I am thrilled to see the outstanding work of our talented colleagues across the division being recognised in this way, and I extend my gratitude to them and to all of our staff who contribute to our exceptional educational offering.

Nandini is Associate Professor of South Asian Studies at the Oxford Department of International Development and Fellow of St Antony’s College. She is currently Associate Head of the Social Sciences Division for Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion. She was Head of Department between 2012 and 2016. She has been Senior Tutor, Sub Warden, and Acting Warden at St Antony’s. Educated in Calcutta and at Cambridge, she previously held research fellowships and taught at St John’s College and Centre of South Asian Studies, Cambridge.

She is the chair of the international advisory board and editorial board of Oxford Development Studies. She is a member of the editorial boards of Springer’s “Exploring Urban Change in South Asia” book series and Anthem’s “Modern South Asian History” series. She was the editor of the “Diversity and Plurality in South Asia” book series of Anthem Press.

Read more about her research and publications here.

Find out more about the 2023 recipients of the Social Sciences Teaching Excellence Awards.

Where next?